FACT: No, not essentially. Whereas pure darkish chocolate is meant to be made with out milk or milk merchandise, not all darkish chocolate is taken into account pure or produced in the identical approach. Plus, darkish chocolate could also be produced in the identical facility or on the identical gear that makes milk chocolate, and cross-contamination can happen. All the time learn the record of components and any “could comprise” statements for milk on all darkish chocolate merchandise you’re interested by shopping for. Moreover, contact the producer with any questions you’ll have about how merchandise have been made.
Notice for these shoppers allergic to exploit and contemplating vegan choices: Pure darkish chocolate could also be applicable for vegans, as by definition it’s alleged to be made with out milk/milk merchandise. Nonetheless, not all darkish chocolate merchandise could also be protected choices for these with a milk allergy, and could also be labelled with a ‘Might comprise milk’ assertion. Keep in mind to learn the record of components and “could comprise” statements and speak to the producer with any questions.
Tags: Cross-contamination, mythbuster, studying meals labels