CUANA

News

Is Meat Glue Safe?

Is Meat Glue Safe?

Looking for healthy holiday meals? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive a holiday recipe guide with four recipes: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

DESCRIPTION: Used in about 8 million pounds of meat every year in the United States, the “meat glue” enzyme transgutaminase has potential food safety and allergy implications.

Some meat additives, however, may actually improve food safety. See Meat Additives to Diminish Toxicity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/meat-additives-to-diminish-toxicity), Viral Meat Spray (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/viral-meat-spray) and Maggot Meat Spray (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/maggot-meat-spray).

Most need not worry about gluten sensitivity, though. See my video Is Gluten Bad For You? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-gluten-bad-for-you)

More on E. coli O157:H7 in my video Meat May Exceed Daily Allowance of Irony (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/meat-may-exceed-daily-allowance-of-irony). For those interested in the politics of this “Jack-in-the-Box” strain, see my blogs E. coli O145 Ban Opposed by Meat Industry (http://nutritionfacts.org/2012/06/09/e-coli-o145-ban-opposed-by-meat-industry) and Supreme Court case: meat industry sues to keep downed animals in food supply (http://nutritionfacts.org/2011/11/03/supreme-court-case-meat-industry-sues-to-keep-downed-animals-in-food-supply). From a population perspective, the E. coli in chicken is more of a concern. See my video Avoiding Chicken To Avoid Bladder Infections (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/avoiding-chicken-to-avoid-bladder-infections).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/is-meat-glue-safe/ and he’ll try to answer it!

Image Credit: außerirdische sind gesund, Scott Ashkenaz, and Acrossthesea via flickr.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books: https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org